48 hours of work averaged over 26 weeks

hi guys, my company as like most comply with 48 hours of work averaged over 26 weeks working time directive,
EU legislation. I told my boss the company can opt out of this , he said rubbish we can,t , I know as a driver I cannot opt out as an individual. mobile worker. yesterday at birch services there was a load of vosa blokes there and vosa women.
they told me as an individual I cannot opt out of it. as a company you can. then dave at work said there wrong they must be on about the night time rule start before 4am which I have opted out of. I said no they were not on about night rule they said in plain English that 48 hours of work averaged over 26 weeks working time directive,
EU legislation. as a company you can opt out. anyone else heard this. thanx

Perhaps a company can opt out (warehouse staff, managers etc) but companies don’t drive LGV’s under EU regs. Drivers do and drivers that are subject to EU driver’s regs may not opt out of the 48 average.

Perhaps the VOSA bod just got his/her facts wrong is a distinct possibility.

gothika:
hi guys, my company as like most comply with 48 hours of work averaged over 26 weeks working time directive,
EU legislation. I told my boss the company can opt out of this , he said rubbish we can,t , I know as a driver I cannot opt out as an individual. mobile worker. yesterday at birch services there was a load of vosa blokes there and vosa women.
they told me as an individual I cannot opt out of it. as a company you can. then dave at work said there wrong they must be on about the night time rule start before 4am which I have opted out of. I said no they were not on about night rule they said in plain English that 48 hours of work averaged over 26 weeks working time directive,