4 over 4 gearbox

Can anyone help me here. I am a relatively new driver (class2) rigid, with limited experience. I trained in a large 26ton rigid with a straight 6 box with overdrive with a splitter.

I do occasional driving at weekends and the company I am working for have a few lorries with a 4 over 4 box. I could do with a refresher lesson or two with this kind of box. Do you know anyone who can show me the ropes on this?

I am more than happy to pay. The alternative is to hire a lorry for a day and get on with it - the trouble is finding one.

Muppett:
I am more than happy to pay. The alternative is to hire a lorry for a day and get on with it - the trouble is finding one.

To hell with that. Just get out of earshot of the yard and ‘play’ :open_mouth:

A range change can be pre-selected. It only takes effect when the gear lever passes through neutral. Typically start off in 2nd, then 4th, Range change switch up, then select 5th. Or,

Select 3rd, and even before you move off, move the range change to high, and then when you do change gear, go straight to 5th.

Remember,
Range change = Move gear lever through neutral.
Splitter = Dip Clutch.

Hope that helps.

Goes…

1,2,3,4 then flick switch then change gear back to 1st position which is now 5th gear then continue.

Just a thought but…with a gate change ( 4 beside 4.)
8 gears are created by knocking the gear lever over to the right when you change up to 5th & this is not a preselector range change.
Also don’t forget there’s nothing wrong with inexsperience unless you don’t ask when you need to.

Firstly, Muppet, welcome to TrucknetUK.