2nd job

hi there. i am a full time hgv driver mon -fri and i was wondering if im allowed to have a second job on sundays? i know that theres this 48h average working week rule but you can opt out from it as far as im aware. or would that still clash with my tacho rules? ive got a big family holiday next year so i need to get some monies in before im away for a month or so. the job would be 0900-1700 and i usually start at about 4 or 5am on mondays very rarely go over 13h so no reduced rests. no need to have a go at me times are hard and extra money wouldn’t go a miss :grimacing:

Trucker8oy:
hi there. i am a full time hgv driver mon -fri and i was wondering if im allowed to have a second job on sundays? i know that theres this 48h average working week rule but you can opt out from it as far as im aware. or would that still clash with my tacho rules? ive got a big family holiday next year so i need to get some monies in before im away for a month or so. the job would be 0900-1700 and i usually start at about 4 or 5am on mondays very rarely go over 13h so no reduced rests. no need to have a go at me times are hard and extra money wouldn’t go a miss :grimacing:

if you already work full time mon to fri then you can only do every other sunday I’m afraid…

as the EU driver rules (NOT WTD which you mention you opted out of) state that you must take a 'regular weekly rest period of at least 45 hours

you can take a ‘reduced’ weekly rest period (of minimum 24 hours), however you have to make up the short-fall by the end of the third week…so if you take 24 hours then you have to take the 21 hours less by the end of the 3rd week ‘on top’ of the 45 hours

this is the case ‘regardless’ of what work you do and in what profession, even self-employed jobs

see here for full details:
gov.uk/guidance/drivers-hou … vers-hours