2 questions 1 on eu rules the other on domestic

hey guys im new to all this and thought i’d ask a couple of questions that are puzzling me.
right under eu laws i can do 3 reduced rests in a week ie not had 11 hours rest in 24 hours. question is who decides if i have a reduced rest as i always thought it was the driver and porter who decided if they wanted to reduce their rest but my boss says it’s the companies decision.

second question under british domestic you can only drive for 10 hours and do an 11 hour duty. but i have been told by my legal and compliance trainer and my boss that if i only drive for 3 hours 59 mins then let my porter drive and he stays below 4 hours of driving that we can work over the 11 hours duty even if we do go outside of a 50km radius of are base

most things for driving im up on and taking my international cpc soon but must admit there is still the occassional things that stump me lol
any advice most welcome

The second part re domestic hours is correct, if you do less than 4 hrs driving you’re exempt on the duty time but if you do more than 4 hrs on one day then the duty limit applies for every day that week.

akamarc:
hey guys im new to all this and thought i’d ask a couple of questions that are puzzling me.
right under eu laws i can do 3 reduced rests in a week ie not had 11 hours rest in 24 hours. question is who decides if i have a reduced rest as i always thought it was the driver and porter who decided if they wanted to reduce their rest but my boss says it’s the companies decision.

second question under british domestic you can only drive for 10 hours and do an 11 hour duty. but i have been told by my legal and compliance trainer and my boss that if i only drive for 3 hours 59 mins then let my porter drive and he stays below 4 hours of driving that we can work over the 11 hours duty even if we do go outside of a 50km radius of are base