1st job and tacographs

Evening all I start my new job on Monday and would just like some tips and info on using Tachographs in the lorry. I’ve been driving service buses for the past five years so never needed a digi card for that, I’m off for a sort of induction on Saturday where the boss is going to show me the truck I’ll be driving and how things work round the yard etc and I’m sure he’ll be able to advise me on the Tacho machine as well but thought I’d pick some brains on here first.

Seeing as though it’ll be my first time using a tachograph will I have to do a manual entry or can I just put the card in as soon as I arrive at work and just make sure it’s on other work for 15 minutes to show I’ve done my walk rounds? Watched a few vids on manual entries and read some older posts on here about them and there seems to be divided opinion on doing a manual entry and putting the card straight in? The job also requires the occasional night out and without wanting to sound like a total idiot if you’re on a night out do you eject the card as normal or leave it in on the break/rest symbol?

Thanks in advance :smiley:

Put your card…

In as soon as you get in the truck. If you’ve been getting keys, paperwork etc show that as a manual entry and then do your walk round. There’s no set time for doing your checks just do them and then get on with your day.

Opinion seems to be split but it’s your choice to leave the card in overnight or eject it.

Happy motoring.

You don’t need to sit for 15 minutes but if you’re paid by the hour and the company want it, crack on.

Leave your card in overnight and select break then finish your day. In the morning start your day then put it on other work.

Don’t leave your card in overnight unless you are absolutely sure that you will get the same truck the next day.

Whether or not to leave the card in overnight is at the company’s discretion, some want that some don’t, ask what they want.