12/24v cool boxes/fridges

Any recommendations? Been looking at a few around the £50 quid mark from either Argos or go outdoors.

I’m a bit concerned that I’m going to plug it, come to start the unit in the morning and the battery is drained. Do these 12/24v boxes drain batteries or are they generally OK to have plugged in all the time?

I’m new to tramping and last 2 weeks I was lucky to get a newer unit with a manufacturer built in fridge, but now I’ve been given my own older one without the gadgets so I’m after an alternative.

if you get a 12v go to Halfords and get either the 24ltr or 40ltr they work very well

blue estate:
if you get a 12v go to Halfords and get either the 24ltr or 40ltr they work very well

Thanks. So no issues with battery draining too much with those ones then?

Rowley010:

blue estate:

Not on my truck as there’s a battery saver on the 12v side

I got this one, fantastic bit of kit, always unplug at night and although it’s not cold cold in the morning it’s still cool, I’ve often put something frozen in in the morning and it’s still been frozen at night

I got a fridge from go outdoors for around 130 we have inverters fitted by the company so it runs off 240v and nearly freezes. Had it about 3 years now. They are an absorbtion fridge so they will flatten the battery over night I usually keep a couple ice packs in the bottom to boost it over night like this morning I forgot to turn off the inverter result had to jump it. Myself not a big problem as I carry jump leads

blue estate:

I’ve just got the 24 ltr one , works fine , but bit noisy so I turn it off at night ( still cold in morning ) ,£50

I bought one of those absorption type fridges mine works off Gas , 24V dc and 240ac it has a thermostat so isn’t continuously running , but they do draw a fair few amps , I used to have 12v coolbox before that , that would have to be switched off over night due to the noise the fan made, wasn’t good in the summer months though

Rowley010: