12/24 volt small sockets

I bought a car charger that said it was ok to use 12/24 volt ,when I pluged it in to the ciggy lighter on the lorry it went bang & loads of smoke poured out of it :open_mouth: .
On most trucks that I have driven I have seen an extra 2 small plug sockets that have 12 volt on one & 24 volt on the other,I take it that I should have bought an adaptor to fit these sockets â– â– ? but what also confuses me is that some lorries have 180 watts or 240 watts max stamped above the 12 volt socket ?.
What I would like to know is it okay to plug my phone in to charge on the 12 volt socket with an adaptor (Where can you get an adaptor from ?) & what does the 180/240 watt max mean â– â– ?.
I know these are probably silly questions but I am a newbie & if I can blow up my car charger I certainly don’t what to blow up my small telly :laughing:

This subject has been covered before and we came to the conclusion that a phone can be charged with either 12 or 24 volt sockets.

For the TV, make up a small 12v test lamp. If its normal bright, its 12 if its extra bright it is 24

mightymart:
I bought a car charger that said it was ok to use 12/24 volt ,when I pluged it in to the ciggy lighter on the lorry it went bang & loads of smoke poured out of it :open_mouth: .

That sounds like the charger was a faulty one, not the socket being faulty, take it back to the shop and get it replaced.

On most trucks that I have driven I have seen an extra 2 small plug sockets that have 12 volt on one & 24 volt on the other,I take it that I should have bought an adaptor to fit these sockets â– â– ?

You would have to make up the adapter yourself.You can buy the Hella plug (the small plug) from alot of places such as Motorworld, then buy a a cigar lighter extension lead and change the plug on the end - et voila - one converted lead.

but what also confuses me is that some lorries have 180 watts or 240 watts max stamped above the 12 volt socket ?.