Should agency get a cut of overtime bonus?

Hey guys,

Appreciate that there’s likely no universal answer to this question as different agencies and contracts operate to different agreements, but still interested to hear opinions.

I’ve been working on the same contract for eight months now. Don’t mind being on the agency as I get 50p an hour more than most of the regular drivers and have the flexibility to take time off when I want (offset by getting the crap jobs and early starts at short notice due to not having my own run).

I didn’t think I got overtime like regular drivers until I logged into the agency’s portal for the first time the other day and saw I’m getting the grand sum of 25p an hour (which I didn’t notice amongst the fluctuating pension payments).

I’m more annoyed than if I wasn’t getting it tbh as it possibly means the agency are getting a bonus of 1.5x my hourly rate from the end client and giving me only 25p.

My consultant is going to speak to the boss and come back to me later today so need to think how best to approach and what I want out of it.

To be clear, this isn’t a bonus from agency but is a bonus from the end client which is paid to the drivers (not yet confirmed if agency are getting the full 1.5x hourly rate).

What does your agreement with the agency say you should be getting? What does their agreement with the client say they should be getting?

Assuming the answer to both questions is “What I/they am already receiving” then there isn’t anything more to say.

Surely, as long as your receiving payment as per your terms with the agency, there’s nothing to think about.

Whatever arrangement the agency has with the operator is really not your concern.

Just my thoughts, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Roymondo:
What does their agreement with the client say they should be getting?

They’re not going to tell you that

Peter Smythe:
Surely, as long as your receiving payment as per your terms with the agency, there’s nothing to think about.