Going home during shift

I’m a day driver that’s ended up doing a night out. I’m without any night gear at all. I have to run in tomorrow with my trailer but then have a full days worth of work to do.

I need to go home to restock my daily food and drink supplies, perhaps have a shower but most importantly for medication that I will have missed.

My question is: how does this work with the tacho and my rest/breaks? I know you’re not supposed to take the card out until you finish so should I head home and leave the card in the truck? I’m also concerned how this will effect my shift length as I can see it easily becoming another ‘unplanned’ night out tomorrow night as well.

Should you not put card on rest, take card out then carry out manual entries on return?

Sent from my H8216 using Tapatalk

Assuming you mean you’re leaving the lorry at work and going home in your car or whatever, you can leave the card on rest as long as no-one can move the vehicle.

If there’s any chance the vehicle will be moved take the card out and do a manual entry for rest when you re-insert the card.

You are allowed to remove the card with permission from an authorized person, the problem is no-one knows who counts as an authorized person :smiley:

Sent from my mobile.

I hereby authorise you to remove your card. [emoji2]

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

I bet I know someone who’s just found out it’s a good idea to always be prepared for a night out - no matter how unlikely!

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Peter Smythe:
I bet I know someone who’s just found out it’s a good idea to always be prepared for a night out - no matter how unlikely!

Every driver should be prepared for a night out in this country the way traffic is increasing ect ect .

Punchy Dan:

Peter Smythe:

Every driver should be prepared for a night out in this country the way traffic is increasing ect ect .

Then every driver should be provided with a vehicle which is designed to be nighted out in.