Transport manager fined Driver

Hi everyone
I am kind of new to truck driving and only started with a new company recently, as it turns out there is only four other drivers who all have recently became truck drivers .Now without knowing all the details one of them got tacho infringements for driving over his hours a couple of times and was fined £100 by the transport manager.
What I want to know is this common cos I thought it was only the police and dvsa that could issue a fine.
Thanks for your help

ScottishJoe:
Hi everyone
I am kind of new to truck driving and only started with a new company recently, as it turns out there is only four other drivers who all have recently became truck drivers .Now without knowing all the details one of them got tacho infringements for driving over his hours a couple of times and was fined £100 by the transport manager.
What I want to know is this common cos I thought it was only the police and dvsa that could issue a fine.

The only way a TM can fine you for infringements is if you’ve signed a contract allowing him to, and even then I’m not sure if it would be legal.
Legal or not it’s certainly not right.

Your colleague needs to stand up to this fool of a TM and refuse to pay the fine, a company cannot legally deduct money from your wages without your consent.

The answer to your question is that I’ve never heard of this happening before, so no it’s not common and unless the driver has agreed to pay company fines I’m 99.9% sure it’s not legal.

Having said that, are you sure your colleague isn’t winding you up?

Sent from my mobile via Tapatalk.

What was the infringement?
(Not that I could imagine any justifying the fine)

stu675:

ScottishJoe:
Now without knowing all the details one of them got tacho infringements for driving over his hours a couple of times and was fined £100 by the transport manager.

tachograph:

stu675:

ScottishJoe: