Building Sites, what do you do?

So I’m relatively new to this HGV agency driving, that’s why I’m here. I started driving 7.5 tonnes and Class 2s in June of last year and for the most part I’ve been enjoying it. It’s been a steep learning curve that’s for sure. Prior to June the only experience I’d had with a ratchet strap was releasing my motorcycle after it had been tied down on a cross channel ferry. I learnt how to open and close curtain siders watching YouTube videos. Thank god for YouTube.

Anyway, I digress, I’ll get to the point. Since I started driving last year I would say that the vast majority of my work is delivering to building sites - I had no idea just how many building sites there were until I started delivering. What I want to know is how many of you actually drive onto their sites and drop the goods exactly where they want them?
Personally speaking I find it a bit much that I’m expected to drive my vehicle ‘off road’ across deep muddy holes and puddles, risking tyre damage and punctures or even getting stuck on some of the dreadful tracks just so that the goods can be delivered within a few inches of their storage containers.

My day would be phenomenally easier if i remained outside the compound and the forklift driver came to me. I’m not afraid of hard work by any means but I do think it unfair to drive a vehicle, not really suited to offroading, across long stretches of mud, gravel and god knows what else.

Does anybody refuse and say, ‘No, either you collect from me at the gates or I’m off to the next job?’.

yeah thats pretty much how it works , you get used to it. just treat every job as a challenge rather than a chore ,you will be surprised at the places you mange to get in and out of .

Many thanks for the reply, you have put my mind at ease. I needed reassurance that I wasn’t the only mug doing this. If that’s how it goes then so be it.