Class 1 assessment at GXO (Currys in Newark)

Have an assessment on Monday 4pm till about 7/8pm my first one.
I am currently a class 2 driver (passed my class 1 in Jan) been hunting for a job on the class 1s since.

Chap from recruitment team in Northampton called and went through my CV etc told me a little about the role and booked me in for assessment.

Just wondering what I should expect to encounter? I am still driving a class 2 currently and will be at work early hours Tuesday so can’t really put my card in tacho to drive their trucks, do you need to on an assessment? Also what can I expect to happen? I’m guessing they are going to want a reverse out of me and literally the only time I’ve reversed a class 1 is on test so pretty worried about it all in honesty as I don’t wanna mess it up!

Any help or advice will be appreciated

This area is open to interpretation (in my opinion), but the only thing that matters is that GXO will most likely require your card to be in and probably wouldn’t allow the assessment to proceed if you don’t comply.

My argument is that an assessment drive does not deliver or collect any goods (commercial or non-commercial).

There are some specific exemptions mentioned where if during an employment a driver never carries goods, then he/she is not in scope. This includes mechanics driving the vehicle to a testing station or a driver that only moves empty vehicles between depots.

The bottom line is that if you want the job, you will most likely need to have your card in and resisting will probably result in a job opportunity missed.

You need to use a card for an assesment, any decent company that values it’s O licence will not allow you to drive a truck with no card in.

You will need to arrange it around your daily driving hours where possible or on a day off where you can still have the required weekly rest.

Sent from my CPH2173 using Tapatalk

How did your drive go?