New trucker intro, and my failed class 1

Hi all.

I’m a new trucker in the West Midlands and wanted to introduce and tell my story.

I bought a package for a Class 2 and Class 1 license back in September 2021. All in all around 3600~ total.
On hindsight, this was a total waste of money going through a Business to Client broker, and I really should have found a local driving school.
These brokers leech money off you and they appear on top of search engine listings because they pay a fortune in SEO and other advertisements to Google.

It took me until late March 2022 to begin actually doing Class 2 lessons and I passed it that month.
Afterwards I did multi-drop heavy handball urban deliveries (25kg bags, 300-400+ per day) for 12 weeks before resigning.
The company I worked for paid by the day (130 per day), had terrible safety, and an incredibly high rate of driver attrition/burnout - one of the drivers mates claimed he’d seen around 100 drivers come and go over a year.

Repeated Class 1 lesson delays occurred, and I managed to start my Class 1 lessons in August.
I didn’t have a good experience with my class 1 teacher. Just water and oil I guess.
Struggled to learn the reverse, but got it. All in all spent maybe 12 hours driving Class 1 before my test. Maybe I was a bad student. I didn’t get along with my teacher.

This week I failed my Class 1 test with 2 serious;
Right hand lane on unfamiliar roundabout, missed exit and was on right hand lane.
Stop on left, move on when ready, black VW swerved/overtook when I thought he was going to slow down and wait.

All in all, rather depressing week and the failure left me rather distraught. I’ve booked for a re-test at ~£450. Just waiting for the test date.

Gutted. I know a guy who went via an agency type school who then got you work as well & he said he wish he hadn’t. Anyhow £450 for a retest■■? The test is £40 part A & £155 for part B. Does that include 3hr lesson prior to the test?

PaddyTheLorryDriver: