Failed a drug test

I’m totally lost for words on this one…

I’m a new pass driver, self funded everything and worked hard to get where I am. Passed everything on the first attempt and all was going well.

Sent my CV to a very large company who invited me down for an assessment. The money was fantastic, more than I’ve seen anywhere else and things were looking decent. The assessor was a really nice guy, as was everyone I met in the company. I wont name the company, but they were big, a professional outfit and clearly worth working for.

Prior to starting the full assessment, I had to do a saliva drugs test… And failed for THC (cannabis).

Here’s the kicker… I’ve never taken drugs of any sort in my entire life. None of my family or friends do, and I’ve not been near anyone who uses cannabis. I’ve checked online at things that can give false positives for THC and i’ve not been near any of them and am not on any medication or foods that could trigger a false positive. I’m actually a serving cop so I know all to well the dangers and stupidity of drugs. I’ve not been near anyone at work for months who has used or handled any drugs, as i’ve been working in the office for a while rather than being on the streets, so there’s no inadvertant contamination from a member of the public. I smoke a lot of cigars but that’s about it. Surely they shouldnt be coming up as THC on a sliva test kit, and i’d not smoked for about 13 hours prior to the test.

I’m flabbergasted.

As expected, they terminated the assessment there and then. They were fine with me about it, but I’m gutted.

I can only assume it was a bad testing kit, otherwise I’ve no idea what the hell im gonna do if every haulier I try and get a job with are going to test me with the same result. In hindsight, maybe I should have asked for another test but was so stunned I just left. I doubt they would have given me another test anyway.