Am I to old and are these realistic expectations?

Hi Guys total newbie here with no hair so please be gentle .

So at the grand old age of 52 I find myself needing a new career. I’ve recently been made redundant from an operational office job that is now very old hat now and no new position will become available or are normally recruited internally. It’s fine I’ve managed to clear the mortgage with my redundancy money after 18 years in my current position.

I’m currently working for Amazon as a self employed LWB Transit driver , although I’m reasonably fit I don’t want to be delivering upto 260 parcels and over 191 stops a day as I did yesterday for the rest of my working life . It’s definitely a very young mans game .

I’m thinking of a Class 2 license as looking through the local job adverts is seems there is a lot of work around and quite of lot of permanent positions as well , something I would want to elude to .

It would be great if you guys can help me out with the following questions if you can please - thank you in advance .

1. Am I really to old to retrain at 52 ? I consider myself to have a great work ethic having held positions for considerable amounts of time and having served 7 years in the Royal Navy. I’ve only ever worked for 3 companies in my life , ok 4 now working for Mr Bazos .

2. Is the job market as buoyant as it appears to be or is this all long term agency odd jobs ?

3. Although I understand newbies start at the bottom I’ll cut to the chase with my long term earning expectations. After a reasonable amount of experience ( 6 months or so ) would it be reasonable to expect to earn £25,000 per annum for a 45-50 hours week Monday to Friday with holiday pay . I have zero expectations of nights out , HGV1 or permanent weekend - although rostered shift work is fine .

Be safe everyone and thanks in advance .

Have you read through the info contained within the link below in my signature :question:

ROG: