New driver to fridge work important questions

Hello everyone ! Just about to do some part time weekend artic fridge work and have a couple of questions for you all. I have been doing artic general haulage for 10 years and driving smaller lorry’s for an additional 7 so have some decent experience but none for fridges. So! my questions are…

Collection of a trailer from port empty and running to a collection point do you turn the fridge on so its at the required temp for loading? Same with running between a drop off and collection point?

Obviously a loaded trailer from port will be on and at the required temp. Anything to flick or switch once hooked up to the tractor?

Have seen on some controls for fridges they have a switch from engine to aux power? is that so when hooked up you can run the fridge off the tractor or?

When loading or unloading do you keep the fridge on or just ask the customer what they require?

Leaving the loaded trailer back at port ( obviously leave on ) but anything you need to flick or press as you drop it?

Thank you for to anyone who reply’s much appreciated! :smiley:

You won’t get any consistent answers to these questions because there are so many variables eg. customer requirements, load type, outside temperature etc. You should ask the staff at the place you’re driving for as they’ll know what their customer requires. Some places are ■■■■ about having the box pre-chilled before loading, others don’t give a toss. As a general rule if I’m loading frozen I’ll pre-chill the box about 30 mins out if I know it’s straight on a bay when I arrive. If I know there’ll be a wait then I won’t set it running until I get there as there’s enough time to get the temp down.