Class 2 Query

Hi all,

I currently work as a professional door-opener and wheel-turner for a north-east bus firm and have recently passed my class 2.

Class 1 training is up to the cosh at anywhere local until the end of July, for one reason or another.

Is there any decent work on Class 2 that would be valuable for Class 1 experience, or anything which is interesting (nights out, any sort of distance) that’s doing the rounds at the moment (generally or NE based)? Or am I worth just doing my own thing until I can get my class 1 training sorted and not bothering with the class 2.

Thanks.

Jamie MP:
Hi all,

Is there any decent work on Class 2 that would be valuable for Class 1 experience,

Others may disagree with this but in terms of driving a class 1 over 2 probably not, in terms of navigation, procedures, load security, Tacho’s, tail lifts, Cab layout controls and numerous other things yes most definitely.
Trucks don’t have routes, and chances are you’ll not get as much support when you start driving HGV’s as you have when you start on the buses.
Rock up for a class one job can’t open the lockers, use the ratchet straps or operate the tail lift - you are going to be in for an interesting day. If you really want get ready for class 1 I would suggest you start with some class 2 trunking and as soon as you’re happy with that get yourself on a class 2 multi drop job, pallet delivery, brakes, 3663/Bidvest etc.
Don’t underestimate the difference between a class 2 and a bus. You’ll already know the difference between driving a full double deck and an empty one, some loaded class 2 will be as heavy again and while the ‘passengers’ may be quieter they may need some assistance getting out.