Weekend work?

Evening, everyone. Just wondering what the best approach is for getting into full time trucking.

My background is: during 80’s I went the hgv3, then hgv2 and finally hgv1 route whilst in the RAF although most work was with the 2s in tankers.

I left that world in 97 and am currently a police driver trainer. Good money and some good workmates but I’m potentially in my last 10 years of work and looking for a change…job satisfaction.

I live in South Wales and am planning: every other weekend work (comply with driver rest times) doing hgv1 work to gain experience for a while THEN give up my job, start full time trucking and even looking at tramping.

What is the best way of getting experience / refresher training at weekends? (I’ve been out in a c+e the last couple of weeks to get back into driving BUT lack any experience of tacho, different aspects like curtain siders, tail lifts etc…Can still do dollies though!!!)

I am thinking of just turning up or ringing local companies…Owens, John Raymond (Nolan) etc but am I better off going agency? Do the local companies appreciate people cold calling like this?

What induction / help could I expect from both options to ensure I’m safe enough loading / using tacho etc?
Serious question…when I was young you would always see dogs in trucks. I would jack my job in tomorrow if I could find a trucking job that I could take my dog with me…is that allowed these days■■?

I know, sounds like a troll…works for police, wants to truck…even more I’ve been out this week in one of those Merc mirrorless trucks and love them but this is a true post and would love some advice on how to get started, please.

You can’t be a troll as nobody ever admits to being in the police and they never say they arent a troll either.

Now as to your questions. You’ll need to do a few things toget things running.