Daily walk round

I’m studying for the transport manager cpc exam……

I came across this……

5 THE SYSTEM AND PROCEDURE
5.1 daily walk round checks and first use inspection

Walkround checks should be carried out by the driver or other responsible person every time before the vehicle is used

A scenario I would potentially use this is with an agency driver with poor English skills and liable to either not write out at ticket or fill out a ticket wrong
I could complete the walkround as the transport manager, fill out the report and leaving the ticket in the truck with possible contact details for myself if needed

Or am I just reading this all wrong and it has to Be the driver of the vehicle before he drives away■■?

Thanks for any insight

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

When studying for the exams, just go where the book leads you as far as answering exam questions (I see you’ve got the EOS notes, can’t go wrong with those). I doubt you’d get a question on a foreign driver with poor language skills, I’ve never seen anything like that in past papers, but if that’s where your thinking is leading you, I’d approach it as you providing training for the driver until they’d demonstrated competency, I can’t see how you could go wrong with that.

As for real life TM work, you can put the book back on the shelf for that, there’s a gigantic disconnect between the study course plus exams compared to doing the job on a weekly basis, which basically comes down to: Would this stand up to interrogation of the facts by DVSA/TC? Bearing in mind that both DVSA and the TCs have a lot of leeway when it comes to interpretation of “the rules”.

Best of luck with your exams, and if you’ve chosen to do the exams under CILT rather than SAEG, from what I’ve seen since the changeover, CILT have greatly simplified the exams in comparison to the older OCR style papers.

lmp198181:

Thanks for any insight

Hi lmp198181,