What's With The 56mph(90kph) Tacho Infringements?

I’m sure this topic has come up many times before, but please bear with me here I am new to the industry. I am 23 doing an apprenticeship as a Driver Compliance Manager/Officer whatever u want to call it. I started in May of this year, basically, I lost my old job in an amazon warehouse due to covid and BS and had connections in a certain haulage company and got on an apprenticeship scheme. I did the Transport Manager CPC in September and passed, though what is it they say? …You only retain about 20% of stuff you’re taught, lol right.

Enough about me. I work with two guys who have like 60 years experience between them working for VOSA (DVSA as it is now). But I quite often find myself receiving conflicting advice from the pair especially when the other is not around. We have had multiple discussions on this particular subject but I have never had a clear answer as they never seem to sure themselves, one of them tells me it is an infringement and they can get in trouble for it and the other says it isn’t an infringement and it’s not an issue. So here is my question and my understanding.

On dual carriageways and motorways a hgv of over 7.5 tonnes max laden weight (I only really deal with 44 ton artics) has a speed limit of 60mph(96kph) in England and Wales. So, then why do they get an overspeed infringement on there tacho report for doing 56(90)-60(96)? and does it mean anything & can it lead to a fine? Obviously anything over 60(96.5) is an overspeed so I get that. We are usually only concerned with 100kph+ especially when it becomes frequent. But I still have to sign and send out tacho reports that only have overspeed infringements less than 60mph, and the driver is still expected to sign and return it too. On infringement reports we can produce over certain time periods, all these show up and so infringement counts can get quite numerous which is annoying.