Owning and operating a truck for private use

Hi all, it’s my first post here, so I’m sorry that it’s a query as opposed to anything useful, but I hope you don’t mind and can maybe guide me in the right direction :smiley:.

I’ve been searching for information on this topic for some time, and I can only find bits and pieces. It may be that I’m searching for the wrong things, but I’d like to be clear on everything before I head down this path! I’m a total newbie, so I’m sorry if I’m asking stupid questions.

I’m a private individual, and I have a number of hobbies that involve the moving of quite large things on a semi-regular basis. These things often vary in the type of trailer needed to move them, but essentially all of them have required a large truck. As the haulage bills are racking up, and driving a truck has always seemed like something interesting and fun to do, I’ve been considering doing my C+E and buying myself a tractor unit and doing my own moving of things. I think I’d enjoy it, I have plenty of space to keep the tractor unit, and I think it would be a useful thing to own.

I understand that once I’ve done the C+E and bought a tractor unit, I can change it’s tax classification to a private vehicle meaning it only incurs a small amount of tax, is this correct? If so, what is the process for doing this? Is there an easy process to change this back if I wanted to sell the vehicle?

On the subject of trailers, is it possible to rent trailers on a daily basis, or would I have to buy my own? If renting is possible, would they rent to a private owner such as myself in this scenario?