Bus hits bridge

Three in hospital after bus roof cut off in bridge crash

bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland- … t-65665113

I’m not being picky but in the attachment which is a screenshot from the linked article there’s two bridges in very close proximity, first one is 15ft 3in and shortly after that the second is 12ft 6in. I note there’s industrial units between the bridges so that’s probably why there’s not a blanket restriction on both at the lowest height

And it’s strange because normally bus diagrams are designed to only have certain buses on routes which can handle them - ie if there’s low bridges then it’s a job for a single decker. Not foolproof obviously but I wonder the circumstances of why it was there when clearly it shouldn’t have been. Driver obviously will carry the blame and quite rightly because its his/her final action that could’ve avoided it but for whatever reason didn’t.

I used to be a bus driver.I woyld never go back to it.Yoy hit a bridge in a truck,its a big deal but to hit a bridge in a bus,that would be my worse nightmare if people were injured .

Sploom:
I used to be a bus driver.I woyld never go back to it.Yoy hit a bridge in a truck,its a big deal but to hit a bridge in a bus,that would be my worse nightmare if people were injured .

Try being indirectly involved in a bus crash which ended up with a bus careering into the front of a supermarket and killing a young boy and old lady. That wasn’t nice to say the least.

Having said that bus driving I loved and hated it at the same time. I spent a lot or my time doing coaches so not ding ding work, but consequently when I did do locals it was a nice change.

maybe if they put more signs up , google.com/maps/@55.8509177 … 8192?hl=en, well maybe not :blush: :blush: :blush:

Two scenarios come to mind. It’s a route that normally gets a single-decker, or the driver was off his route.