Flat bed trailors

I have been asked to take a flat bed trailor upto north yorkshire. Im guessing it will have a tractor unit on it or possibly 2. should there be a plate on the trailor telling me the weight of the trailor on its own and combined weight. I have also been told it will be loaded and secured for me if its secured with chains how does one check they are tight enough.

i realise these are silly questions but as i have never done it before its better to ask advice.

Is there…

Any way you could avoid doing this?

Not trying to be flippant but, you really do need to know what you’re doing with flats.

I suggest you spend a few hours looking on Ytube, I’m sure there’ll be some useful pointers on there as well as helpful advice from the peeps here.

don’t forget to measure the height of your load…seen a few instances of tractor’s diggers and the like hitting bridges,over the years!

Silly questions do exist, but youre asking sensible questions. . Two tractor units? Prob under 16t. Check weights on all plates, but doubtful weightll be an issue.
As said above find out about how to use chains.
Drop all the air out of the unit suspension before securing them. If you do chains up tight, and the unit then looses air and drops down the chains are useless. Chocks under wheels is good practice too. Straps around wheels. If one is loaded backwards beware of air/wind behind spoilers etc. They are designed to drive forwards, not back!
Repeat: find out how to use chains yourself. If you need to adjust them en-rte then you need to do it.

Franglais:
Drop all the air out of the unit suspension before securing them. .

This had me confused, until I think you mean the loads, rather than the drive unit.

stu675:

Franglais:
Drop all the air out of the unit suspension before securing them. .

This had me confused, until I think you mean the loads, rather than the drive unit.

Yes, exactly so.

cooper1203: