Arrows

Electric overhead gantry markings prior to a red X when they advise you change lane ahead. At what point do you act on them as opposed to treating them as advisory?
My question is really prompted by ■■■■■■■ miles of red X prior to the M25 closure Jct 25 to 27 last night.
They were being ignored by millions, so lane one was almost not moving, having to let in all the queue jumpers. Yet it was the only lane without a red X.

When it’s an arrow saying whichever lane is closing, you can still use it.

When its a red x it means closed, do not use. From that point onwards even if its not obvious as to why. It’s an instruction at that point.

I would absolutely support the ability to dish out automated fixed pens with three points and £100 fine using the existing camera network for this.

As an ex driving instructor, I told all my pupil to ask themselves a question. Can I drive in that lane? and then follow the flashing lights. Amber lights go up and down, so you are nodding Yes. Red lights go side to side, so you are shaking your head, No. Simples

I cannot understand why most want to queue in one lane when two are safely/legally available

toonsy:
When it’s an arrow saying whichever lane is closing, you can still use it.

When its a red x it means closed, do not use. From that point onwards even if its not obvious as to why. It’s an instruction at that point.

I would absolutely support the ability to dish out automated fixed pens with three points and £100 fine using the existing camera network for this.

As it was a red X , I complied with it until I saw the manual signs at the side of the road. At which point I was able to ignore them and rely on the new information.
images.app.goo.gl/PEg5CLLgNoRAzk6R8

Most people seem to stay in the lane they are in, until they see the gantry with the actual red 'x’s on it.

The usual “carve-up at the cone taper” then happens.

There’s often a 40mph speed limit in lane 4 on the M25 where this applies…