Proper Securing for Coffee Loads

Hi all I hope you are keeping well,

I’ve recently started a new job where I am doing coffee deliveries to RDCs the loads vary as some loads are the glass coffee jars and some are just aluminium tins I do most of the time have 26 Pallets so I just secure the back as it’s a XL rated curtainsider.

My question to you is if you have a load of let’s say 10 pallets how would you go about securing it making sure if you was to be pulled by VOSA they would be happy as some of the pallets I carry weigh up to 800kg and i understand that internals are only rated up to 400KG I’ve looked at different ways of securing the load but I cannot throw a ratchet over the top as it will crush the aluminium tins or glass the only way I’ve tried is securing the pallets .

Just hoping someone can help me as I’m still quite new to driving I’ve looked online but cannot find any good information.

Thank you

You used to be able to buy a cargo net that would cover and hold a load within a Tautliner prior to using the trailers straps.
Failing that buy some ex Military Camouflage Nets and secure them with bungie cords, then use the straps of the trailer. providing the nets are secure and hold the cargo you should have no problem.
Also if your pallets are stacked two high I would net both levels separately. :smiley: :wink:

Pallet on top of each pallet to dread the load if a ratchet over the top? Or corner braces but usually the larger full pallet sizee types? That’s what I used to do with pallets of those little jars of marmite. Incidentally there was no love, just hate :laughing: