Hello, guys, a newbie here ;-)

Ok, but seriously. Long time no see, but as some of you might know I was driving rigids for many years. Recently I moved to wagon and drags, then I was doing trunking and trailer swaps, which is basically easy and boring, and recently I started doing some multidrop. I am kinda of newbie to city driving in actual artics, so I thought I’d ask.

There is that anderson lead that needs to be plugged to operate tail lift. But since it’s not coiled, I only use it when I really need it, as I think it might get easily entangled into something when driving, I am also not sure it would be long enough if I wanted to make a sharp turn. So I just leave it unpugged when driving.

But today another driver told me to leave it on. There was no tailift on his trailer, so I wasn’t able to see if he does it himself, but I got a feeling that he was pulling my finger, but maybe I am over cautious indeed and I worry that I forgot to unplug it unnecessarily?

When not in use, I used to keep it in the cab. Nobody can borrow it then. :open_mouth:

You should disconnect it completley when not in use because if it comes into contact with any metal,it can make a spark and cause damage to the electrical system

Yeah Ive only ever driven with it connected once , when I forgot to take it off! It pulled it self out of the trailer and was dragging on the ground sparking!! Luckily I hadnt left the yard!

Never leave it connected when driving :slight_smile:

Our trailer brakes are right next to our anderson sockets so I always put the brake on when using it. It’s a fail safe for when you try and drive off with it still plugged in.

Welcome home, I remember your name from some years ago.I have only used an Anderson on a wagon and drag. I dont think its secure enough to drive with it in place.

Swordsy:
Never leave it connected when driving :slight_smile:

If one…

Of these comes off at 55mph, what kind of damage could it do to someone sitting behind a windscreen?