Max hours

One for Rog or anyone with reference, Guy on faceache, saying 90 hrs fortnightly, 58 max in week, I pointed out it’s 56 max, he came back with working Thur Fri 10s Sat Sun 9s Mon Tue 10s, can anyone clarify this?, I was talking about fixed week Mon to Sun.

Sapper

sapper:
One for Rog or anyone with reference, Guy on faceache, saying 90 hrs fortnightly, 58 max in week, I pointed out it’s 56 max, he came back with working Thur Fri 10s Sat Sun 9s Mon Tue 10s, can anyone clarify this?, I was talking about fixed week Mon to Sun.

Sapper

I’m only a newbie in this industry but surely that’s illegal because Mon Tues Thurs Fri he is doing 10 hours driving. You can only extend twice per week. He would also be breaking his weekly rest. how would you get a 45 hour unbroken rest with that shift pattern.

No, you can work that shift pattern, you can work the legal amount of days between weekly rests how you like, as long as you do not exceed the limits for a fixed week, ie, Mon to Sun, you can work over the weekend and do 4 x 10s, but two of the tens will count in different weeks, that is what I am telling him, but he’s adamant he can still do 58 hours, I’m trying to tell him, that on any of his 2 x 9s, he will have to reduce them to eights.

Sapper

sapper:

I assume you’re talking about driving hours not working hours.

You can drive a maximum of 56 hours per fixed week (Monday to Sunday) so as a one off the driving hours mentioned are legal but you could not do the same driving starting on the following Thursday because that would be 58 hours driving in the second week.

edit: I suggest you refer your Facebook friend to Section 1.11 Summary of EU limits on drivers’ hours - Drivers’ hours and tachographs: goods vehicles

tachograph: