First Night Out Driving - Tips Please

Hi all,

I’m a fairly new class 1 driver and my agency has booked me in next week to do some overnight shifts. I’ve never done this before and so would like some tips from you more seasoned drivers please.

I have no idea where I am going yet until on the day and I think my only concern is where to park to get my sleep. I have a hgv TomTom which points out places to park so I don’t think I’ll have much problem with that. So if anyone has any good tips for me please feel free to throw them at me.

Thanks

Keep the mirrors spotlessly clean and clean them at every opportunity.You get a lot less information from them in the dark and any smearing or grime will wreck what is there .
90 kmh max is bleedin slow on deserted nightime motorways.It makes it a long night.

Ask other drivers who work with you and regularly do nights out for their tips on where to park. If any of them start their sentence with “well I really like the services at……” walk away immediately!

Do NOT turn it into an endurance test or you’ll sicken yourself forever. When you have a roughish idea of the area you’ll be finishing in then simply ask here or FB if you’ve got it. There’s a wealth of cracking places to park, so don’t fall into the lay-by/ services trap.

the maoster:
Ask other drivers who work with you and regularly do nights out for their tips on where to park. If any of them start their sentence with “well I really like the services at……” walk away immediately!

Do NOT turn it into an endurance test or you’ll sicken yourself forever. When you have a roughish idea of the area you’ll be finishing in then simply ask here or FB if you’ve got it. There’s a wealth of cracking places to park, so don’t fall into the lay-by/ services trap.

Ok thanks. What do you mean by “an endurance test” please add I don’t get you? Also why not use services to stay at are they generally bad or??