Considering a mechanical apprenticeship at 33

Afternoon folks
Putting this post up in the hope I can find someone who has done what I’d like to do, and hear your opinion on what it’s like as a HGV mechanic

So I’m 33 years old have been driving trucks for 7 years and after finding out my current company has lost a big contract meaning I either transfer to the new company (which is 30+ miles away each way per day) or I’m out of a job next month

I have been craving change for a long time and now I think with this kick up the arse that time has come I’d like to get an apprenticeship as a HGV mechanic but Im not sure if 33 is too old? Have always enjoyed working on my own cars over the years self taught from brakes and servicing to clutch and engine swaps

Change from just driving them is definitely something I’d like, so just wondering if you’re a HGV mechanic what’s your opinion on the job day in day out? Is it rewarding pay wise? Did you actually go to college or is the city and guilds done in-house?

I’ve read in the past some mechanics moved over to driving the complete opposite to what I want to do, anyone hear done that? And if so why?

Thanks in advance.

I can’t help with much advice but I did an evening class at City of Bristol College where I know they run a number of relevant courses I think from memory the students are mainly day release or similar while also working.

Speaking to previous employer they mentioned there were a number of firms in town currently looking for HGV mechanics including themselves but I could imagine there could be a few years at apprentice level before getting some qualifications under your belt.

There’s been a few posts on here over the years from hgv fitters who are desperate to get out of the game and get out on the road due to the poor wages.

id say go for it , now or never. I did 21 yrs in a truck workshop and made a reasonable living with very little stress have no regrets