Tarmac Tipping

Hi All,

I am looking for some advice please. the company i work for has now gone into tarmac jobs, as of Monday i will be in a tarmac wagon but i have never done it before. we already do the RCC job so i know about tipping into pavers. Its more the loading and preparing the body before its loaded so it doesn’t stick and how to clean the back off after I’ve tipped. Also The truck came with a white spray thing but i have no idea what its for or what to fill it with ? i would be very grateful for any help with this.

cheers Craig

The spray bottle should be filled with the agent supplied usually by the quarry ( it should be near the plant). Give the body a light spray but don’t get caught, you shouldn’t do it. You will have to run the lorry body under a water spray before going under the hopper. Make sure you clear the back out while it is still hot. Use a scraper and the spray to clear the door. Hope this helps. And make sure to tell the maccers you are new to it and they will help you. Just don’t roll off the machine :smiley:

John.b:
The spray bottle should be filled with the agent supplied usually by the quarry ( it should be near the plant). Give the body a light spray but don’t get caught, you shouldn’t do it.

Instead of teaching them the wrong way to do it, how about teaching them the proper way first? :unamused:

There’s probably a good reason why they don’t want you to do it before loading and I’m guessing that might be the reason they end up having to re-tarmac stuff within months of doing it when it prematurely fails. If the same spray you’re on about is the one you said to use on the door then the reason they won’t want you using it before you load is because it acts as a release agent and breaks down the tarmac’s bonding ability.