AEBS

Hi.

I’m after a bit of information regarding aebs.

We’ve just got a new daf with this feature on (normally get Iveco) but I can’t get it to turn off. I know I’m leaving my self open but I’ll risk using my 35 driving experience rather than this.

I’ve tried pressing the button and holding it for a few seconds but nothing seems to happen, can this function be locked in so to speak or am I doing something wrong.

If you press the AEBS button once a yellow warning light should show on the dash which means it has been disabled, if it doesn’t do this there is either something wrong with the button or could have been locked in as you say, although I am not certain on it being locked in as I have no knowledge whether this can be done or not

On ours, you just press it once (long press not req) and it’ll show a yellow warning on the dash. Press again to re-enable.

It might be possible for this turn off option to be disabled in the computer if requested by the company. Could imagine some companies doing this to cover themselves, although I guarantee you’ll still see it fail in rain, snow, fog, mist, too cold, too hot…etc.

I would see if the lane departure switch works. If not, then its it’s likely they’ve asked for all such options to be permanently on.

Doesn’t matter if you turn it off anyway, it still doesn’t completely disable it. On the units we have that are triggered by specific bridges I’ve turned it off and it’s still done it.

I’d be wary of switching the dratted thing off (though entirely understandable the wish to switch the garbage off), because in the event of any accident when the ECU is downloaded you can be certain the finger of blame is going to be pointed at you whatever the circumstances.
Some lorries don’t have the facility at all of switching it off, MAN for one.

dafblog.co.uk/blog/training … stem-aebs/