Tyre repairs

Just took my car to a tyre place as the tyre kept losing pressure over time. Turns out there was a nail in it, smack bang in the middle of the tread so they repaired it.

Are they good though? They said its fine and is permanent but I’m not sold on it. Any input?

toonsy:
Just took my car to a tyre place as the tyre kept losing pressure over time. Turns out there was a nail in it, smack bang in the middle of the tread so they repaired it.

Are they good though? They said its fine and is permanent but I’m not sold on it. Any input?

Had exactly the same on my MX5 day before yesterday, screw in it. Had it repaired by a reputable local tyre man. I used to do them myself when I worked in a garage, it’s standard practice, permanent and no cause for concern. They fit a mushroom headed plug from the inside, can’t go anywhere.
Bernard

toonsy:

If it’s safe enough for a HGV tyre then it’s ok for a car tyre ,
As long as the screw wasn’t near the edge of the tread and the tyre was serviceable then no problems .
Do not use the tyre GUP to get you home as a good tyre will be scrap as they can’t repair it then

blue estate:

toonsy:

If it’s safe enough for a HGV tyre then it’s ok for a car tyre ,
As long as the screw wasn’t near the edge of the tread and the tyre was serviceable then no problems .
Do not use the tyre GUP to get you home as a good tyre will be scrap as they can’t repair it then

I don’t often give good advice but not using sealer solution for a puncture is good advice. I bought a new car in 2008 and it didn’t have a spare tyre but a little compressor filled with some green sh*te instead. What the car dealer didn’t tell me was it would ruin any tyre it was put in.

blue estate:

Some sealants do make replacement necessary.
Some sealants (Tyreweld among others) are water based, and so can be cleaned off to make a repair possible.

toonsy: