Cashless society

took my disabled friend to a local beauty spot/cafe by a canal during the week. couldn’t park as it was by phone only…i don’t have or want a smart phone.so,headed off to a well-regarded garden centre for tea and cake in their cafe…after helping my friend through the garden area and the shops,a fair trek when you can’t walk more than a few steps at a time…and we were refused food as it’s ‘card only sir’. Wightlink are the same…card only,as a lorry driver my fare is paid for me,but i won’t buy anything onboard so ■■■■ 'em.is this what people want? once we go cashless they’ve got us by the balls :frowning:

Interesting article on TCW (Conservative Woman) about this very subject today.

Confess i’ve been lax over the last couple of weeks because busy, but thanks to that article and your post will resume paying cash only.
If they won’t accept cash i will make a point never to give them my business.

Its paying cash that makes you realise just how much things cost and how much work you’ve had to provide to have that cash in your pocket after the govt of the day has pilfered an ever increasing amount before you ever laid eyes on it.
Normally used to take £200 out in cash every week, fill the car up once (to get to work and for shopping, little or no social travel) and that’s halved, by the time you’ve done the weekly shop you are down to small change, you don’t notice it so much when all you do is present a piece of plastic, from which you can be traced, or your phone if you’ve enabled payments on it, from which you can be traced even more accurately.