Getting to grips with the tacho laws

Hi all,
I recently passed my Class 2 and hoping to do my Class 1 within the next 8 weeks and I am new to the Tacho rules and regs etc.
My question revolves around extra work/hours, I will try to explain.

I currently work as a self employed courier/transporter driving a LWB Sprinter van with no tacho, so never needed to worry too much about my hours etc. I have built up some very loyal customers and if at all possible would still like to help some of them and boost my earnings on my rest days (if permitted ?). You may possibly have guessed where my question is leading to.

IF I work for a company driving the maximum permitted hours in a week, then have to go on my rest period, am I allowed to drive my own vehicle during this period and for how long? I currently drive between 2000-4000 miles per week both in the UK and Europe. Whilst I appreciate I will not be able to do anything like as much once I hopefully begin working with a company, I would like to be able to continue to help my loyal customers and top up my salary if at all possible.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Markyboy1008:
Hi all,
I recently passed my Class 2 and hoping to do my Class 1 within the next 8 weeks and I am new to the Tacho rules and regs etc.
My question revolves around extra work/hours, I will try to explain.

I currently work as a self employed courier/transporter driving a LWB Sprinter van with no tacho, so never needed to worry too much about my hours etc. I have built up some very loyal customers and if at all possible would still like to help some of them and boost my earnings on my rest days (if permitted ?). You may possibly have guessed where my question is leading to.