Find a job in Spain or carry on in England

My partner and I are planning on moving to Spain next year as she has family there and we fancy a change of scenery. I’ve been driving class 1 for only 6 months with this limited experience is it likely I’d be able to get any European work and if so should I be looking for a company in Spain or here in the UK?has anybody got any experience of working in Spain?Thanks in advance!!! :smiley: :smiley:

Did you see this post?

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=141632&p=2231511&hilit=Spain#p2231511

Thanks for that. It’s pretty much as I expected from bits and pieces I read online.

I’m a Spaniard myself and I can tell you the situation in Spain is pretty bad right know. I’ve never worked there as truck driver but I have friends who did and right know wages are not so good. Around 1500 euros per month doing national work. Expect 4 or 5 nights out. You could get in better companies If you had an “enchufe” which means someone working in the company passing your cv onto the boss.
If you had more experience and spoke fluent Spanish you could get something more decent but still difficult. Lots of experience drivers who speak good Spanish still have to put up with nasty bosses and bad conditions.

If you have more specific questions go ahead

Thanks for the info. We have family there now so think we will go visit next year and just test the water but I’m not keen on moving now with the information gained so far. I think the best bet is for me to stay where I am and get a lot more experience and maybe try and even learn the language.

I think you would be better off just by teaching English than driving. If you still wanna give it try I’d recommend you to learn as much Spanish as possible and get at least 3 years experience in uk.
I know it doesn’t sound good but that’s the way it is down there. Trucking has gone to the dogs as you brittish say

Good luck