Areas to find work in Normandy

Hi everyone

I’m looking a few years down the line but I’m thinking of saving up to buy a little cottage in Normandy so I can buy outright, go mortgage free, and semi retire in my early/mid fifties. I’m learning French over here as I drive (a van at the moment but just got my Cat C/DCPC and about to go thru Cat C+E and ADR) and with written and film resources at home. I started learning French from scratch three months ago and am doing OK and I think over the next three years I think can probably become fairly proficient.

Obviously the closer you get to major towns, the more expensive the property gets, putting it out of my reach. The rock bottom cheap areas are too far away from anywhere for me to feel comfortable about finding work. Would the Vassy, Vire, Flers area be feasible? The total population within a half hour commute seems to be about 25 thousand. I’m intending to get a bus licence, FLT ticket and a decent teaching English as a foreign language qualification too. With everything paid off I’d need about £10K a year to live on.

Another option is between Argentan and Caen but it looks like that would involve pushing house prices up and Lisieux/Le Havre even more so. From what I have read online including here opinion seems divided on how realistic it is to be employed in France as a Brit, as does opinion on the question of FIMO and the other French paperwork. I suppose if the worst came to the worst I could take contracts and lodgings in UK periodically to boost funds.

The reason I’ve focused on Normandy is I want to be near England, Brittany weather sounds a bit damp and having lived in Scotland I’ve gone off being English and living in a Celtic area again, and to the east of Normandy it gets more expensive. Normandy seems a sweet spot where it’s affordable but still close enough to London and Paris to feel in touch with big cities which is important to me.