Oh Canada!

New Years greetings, I was watching IRT over the holidays and it re-ignited a subject I have been mulling over for a few months now.
A chance conversation with a colleague over a brew was the catalyst, he told me he had worked in Canada for over two years and only came back to the UK for family reasons otherwise he would have stayed.
He worked for Canadian trucking firms taking loads from Canada into the USA and bringing return loads back into Canada, it sounded like a real blast of a life, something that really appealed to me for years.
Anyone on here worked or still works in Canada put me straight? I’m 55 in June so I suspect I’m too old to get a work visa but from what I can gather provided you have a UK C+E licence it is quite straightforward to get the Canadian equivalent.

bigdave789:
New Years greetings, I was watching IRT over the holidays and it re-ignited a subject I have been mulling over for a few months now.
A chance conversation with a colleague over a brew was the catalyst, he told me he had worked in Canada for over two years and only came back to the UK for family reasons otherwise he would have stayed.
He worked for Canadian trucking firms taking loads from Canada into the USA and bringing return loads back into Canada, it sounded like a real blast of a life, something that really appealed to me for years.
Anyone on here worked or still works in Canada put me straight? I’m 55 in June so I suspect I’m too old to get a work visa but from what I can gather provided you have a UK C+E licence it is quite straightforward to get the Canadian equivalent.

There’s a couple of Brit lads on here that live in Canada, Robin hood, and Newmercman.
I reckon if you e.mail or pm them they would give you first hand accounts mate.

bigdave789:

There’s no age limit on work visa’s. Plenty of older drivers have moved out here.