Is truck driving a well paid, enjoyable job? Whats u view?

Im new to hgv driving but as i was doing my training for my licence i found that there were so many diffrent views on the job,

Some would say its a brill job, exciting, get to travel, get peace from the family :wink: etc,
But many would also say its crap, not well paid, bad hours, etc,

Tho i have seen things to prove all these things can be wrong and right , i no people getting Ā£600 a week for class one, but i also no people getting Ā£300 for class 2,

Personaly i think its a great job, get to travel, get to drive a brilliant unit, get peace from everything when your away,

Whats your viewā– ā– ?

I started on the class 2s about three months ago and I love it! And at Ā£400 a week after tax I love it even more!

up until the contract ended a few weeks ago I was getting Ā£600 per week easily for Class 2 trunk work. Itā€™s a good job but you need to find the good ones and even the best jobs donā€™t have the best money. itā€™s a fine balancing act.

Iā€™ve been driving Cars, Minibuses and HGV for a living fo the past 27 years - and have loved every minute of it.

Is it well paid? I did have a job where the wages were really poor, but we were kept busy and there was lots of overtime. Having said that it was all tipping work and I loved it.

Is it enjoyable? Abso~bloody~lutely :smiley:

Got my class 1 licence in March so took any artic job to get experience - milk tankers first, trunking, 12 hour plus shifts for Ā£90 a shift and Ā£10 an hour after 12 hours. Lots of nights, 2.30 am starts, so not well paid but enjoyed it so long as I could stay awakeā€¦

Did a selection of other agency stuff including parcel trunking - Ā£85 for a 12 hour shift, nights again.