Probably a daft question!

I’m 23 years old and I’ve been driving cars since FEB 1998. Is it possible to do a C1+E course without having to do C2 first??

If not is there any fast track method?

GEE

Welcome to TrucknetUK.

I havn’t heard of C2. :confused:

You don’t need to do C1, you can go direct to class C, but I’me pretty sure you need to hold class C for a little while before going for C+ E. So that you get used to the general size, before adding in the complication of a long trailer.

Not too sure about C1 + E. I think you can do that immediately. :blush:

Sometime this weekend, you will get a diffinitive answer from one of the members. By the way, we try to answer any question, and don’t really consider any question as daft, provided its a genuine question.

As a last resort, phone your local LGV training school, or chech their web site. They are the people who need to be right up to date, on the exact ins n outs of the laws, concerning LGV training.

I hope this is of some use to you.

Here is the link for the DVLA licensing section.

dvla.gov.uk/drivers/vehicle_cat_desc.htm

This does not mention C2 so I can’t help, and it would seem nor can the DVLA, but as Simon has stated you can take your C and then C & E and the C1 is included as part of the C qualification.

Hiya Gee, welcome to the mad house… :laughing:
As for your question, You are over 21 and been driving more than a year, so as simon has said, you can go straight for your Category C licence. Cat C1, I believe is for those under the age of 21, but older than 18. so this dont apply to you… and yeah, Category C2 dont exist…

But, you dont have to wait to gain any experience on Cat C before going for your C+E. Its not like a motorbike licence where you would be restricted for a certain amount of time before upgrading.

And once you have got your Full Cat C Licence, that then becomes you provisional C+E licence.

Hope this has helped…
All the best

Mmmm…