Work for newbies

There’s been one or two encouraging posts recently regarding work for newly qualified drivers.

It was great when a customer was in the centre this morning to start his CE and was telling us that he actually had to choose between job offers for CAT C that he must have had for all of 3 weeks!

He’s now got a well paid, permanent job with the offer of artic driving when he’s passed his test (should be next week if the plan works!).

But, as he said, he’s “put himself about”. I think that’s the most important bit and it’s been said before. Nothing will happen unless you make it so. But things are certainly getting better out there! Not before time me’thinks :laughing: :laughing:

I said this a few weeks ago, I have spoken to and sent loads of CV’s out to companies and generally had a pretty decent response lots of we have nothing at the minute but any one that did have anything going didnt run a mile when I told them im a newbie.

I had a choice between 3 different jobs and picked the one that looks the best for the future, also got a couple of weeks work starting the 17th and maybe next week if the phone goes until I start my new job.

There jobs out there you just got to do the leg work to get it and not give up after a few knock backs :smiley:

As has been said on here before, the best way is to chuck some kit in the car, put some decent cloths on and actually go round to the yard.

Cv’s tent to get “lost” or filed (R for rubbish bin)

Phone calls, unless you get an appointment to go round tend not to produce results (there are excptions obviously)

However, you turn up at the yard and say another driver has jacked it or phoned in sick and you happen to be there
“I’ve got some kit in the car, I can go NOW”

It does work folks

I said this a few weeks ago

Had you in mind …

There’s been one or two encouraging posts recently regarding work for newly qualified drivers.

it’s been said before