Anyone had accident?

Hi all. I’m a relatively new driver looking to change my career from the boring office and been working for Agencies. I turned a corner and pranged a parked car, truck undamaged. There was just no space to park and just unfortunate, you live and learn, I will be ensuring it doesn’t happen again.

My question is, if its my fault, will my personal insurance be affected? I am very anxious of outcome and how it will affect my applications to employers going forward. I shouldn’t let it bother me as no-one was hurt and its just a bit of damage to a chunk of metal, but I’m looking at the potential damage to my short/long term trucking career.
I had plans for this year and I’m hoping they are still on track, but don’t think employers will look at applications with an accident, or are we allowed a 2nd chance?

Anyone had a similar accident and how did it affect them?

I have never come across a LGV driver who had a bump where it was their fault and the company insurance paid out then had it affect their personal car insurance

Thanks for info ROG. So do you think if you are Agency worker, would it be the company that they sent you to that pay out of their insurance, or would it be agency?

I just wish I knew more about what happens after. I now know how to complete an accident form (hopefully my last), so I’m trying to take the positive from it haha.

Bit of a grey area really with insurance because even though we don’t mention it to our car insurance if you had one in a truck, when you renew insurance it does say have you had ANY accidents in last 12months or whatever.

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

Cheers rearaxle, will be calling for quotes rather than online to explain when due in May

If you have an insurance claim on your private car then I have never known an insurer contact all the employers you drove LGVs for over the past X period to find out if you had any LGV insurance claims
That does not happen