Tacko question.

Morning all.

Got a question about my tacko card.

As it is, im a car mechanic looking to get into driving.

Passed my test just after lockdown.
A friend of mine is retiring soon and ive got his job when i leave.

So, being as i have zero experience ive booked time off work and been out on the road with him.
Getting some practice in before i start full time.

I have done 2 days in September and 2 days last week.
Totaling about 15hrs.
Thing is, the boss hasnt asked for my card to download.
Is this a problem?
Should i get the card to him asap?
Looks like i maybe starting full time in 3-4 weeks.

Rich

Hi
I wouldn’t worry. Ours are download automatically from the head unit to the office, 68 plate Volvo. That maybe the case for you.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

You present your card for download - that is your responsibility as a driver
Make a note in a diary of when you did that

Does he realise you’ve been driving? Some gaffers can be oblivious to what’s actually going on.

I’m guessing you’ve got your DQC? It’s not uncommon amongst mechanics

If you don’t have your DQC and he doesn’t know you’ve been driving, I’d keep stumm about it as it’s illegal (but too late to worry about it now :smiley: )

If you’re all legal, then just reminding him about it is (I reckon) enough to be seen as you fulfilling your requirements to “present your card for downloading”, the rest is on him.

Yes ive got all 3 cards.
And yes , the boss gave permission to drive. In fact, he insisted.
Wants me to drive as much as possible before im out on the road on my own.
All legal and legit.

More concerned about the info on my card being downloaded and getting an infraction(?) for surrendering my card too late.

Rich

Zac_A:
If you’re all legal, then just reminding him about it is (I reckon) enough to be seen as you fulfilling your requirements to “present your card for downloading”, the rest is on him.

Sounds correct to me.