From finance to driving - should i?

Hello All,

I hope all of you are safe and well.

I am considering to be HGV driver and I wanted to ask for your opinion as I am very confused.

I am currently working as a financial analyst. My yearly income is about 25K, which has a potential to go 30K in a year. I simply have what people call “comfortable office job” where I feel myself uncomfortable. As I don’t like what I am doing, I want to change my career.
I was a driver before corporate life. I drove Sprinter and Crafter. I really liked driving and I am considering to go back to my driving job. I have experienced all the negatives sides and I am sure I don’t mind the cons of driving. Hence, I believe that I should became a driver to not spend rest of my life being unhappy.

I wanted ask you: What do you think my income would be as a beginner? What would my salary be after 1st and 5th years?
Am I being unrealistic wishing to leave my job to became driver?

Thank you so much for your responds. Really appreciated! :slight_smile:

Have you checked out the link in my signature below :question: :bulb:

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

On CAT C your income will range between £18k - £22k. CE is a bit more, maybe £20 - £25. There are many variables, eg location, type of work. Plenty of CE drivers earn £30k+ but that’s not something to expect immediately as a new pass. You can enhance your employability with extra quals such as ADR. The debate continues as to whether you will actually earn more. But it might help get the job.

There is a great unknown because of the current situation. No-one can say whether work will be harder or no harder to get when we achieve the “new normal”. My current recommendation is to only train if you either have a job offer set in stone OR you can afford to do the training without going into debt.