IT vs Trucking

Hi guys,

Hope you’re well.

I was looking for some advice from those who have been in the IT sector and transferred over to HGV or vice versa.

I’m currently at a standstill on what to do I was considering software development or getting my HGV C licence initially then moving on to C+E.
I’ve been thinking about it for a while but guess you could say been a bit overwhelmed by the options as I’m at a point where I feel its probably the most important career decision I’ll make - I’m 28 at the moment.

There would be more costs involved to go down the HGV route, but although I’m no Mystic Meg I feel that the HGV route may be easier to get a start in compared to something like software development given I’ve not got a degree (for that I’d be doing online bootcamp/courses and be self-taught, try and build up a portfolio of apps, etc).

Just wondering if there is anyone who can share their experiences who have transitioned from one industry to the other? Would be great to read your thoughts.

I have driving experience while working for amazon logistics as a van driver and I’m also quite computer savvy.

TIA

Hi although I have never had a job in the it sector I do know a little about it. I have an a+ and n+ from about 15 years ago that I got from a distance learning course. I then spent 2 years trying to find work on and off and I couldn’t find a single person to take me on. I was either over qualified for 1st level support or not enough experience for 2nd level. I even had one guy suggest that I went for 1st level and then it was the same guy that interviewed me for that and said I was over qualified!! Also in that time scale someone with an mcse went from 100k+ to about 30k a year