First insert of tacho card advice

Happy Christmas guys.

I have my first run out this coming Friday since passing my class 2 test a few months back. I am delivering a artic unit to a garage about 120miles away.

I have never used a digi tacho before but watched some videos. It looks fairly straight forward. Although I did watch a vlog on YouTube ages ago and the person was saying when they first inserted their card they had to do something different. Only that once though. For the life of me I can’t find the same video. Does anyone know what will happen when I insert my card in for the first time?

not sure, but whenever you put your tacho in it asks manual entry, choose no and choose uk as country.

then wait 10mins for walk around then drive

When my card was inserted the first time, nobody knew what was really going on because it was ‘doing something different’. I have no clue whatsoever what they did, but it worked after they played around for ages with it and called others to the scene. :laughing:

Don’t be afraid to ask other drivers for help, honestly. I’d be inclined to ask nicely if anyone could make sure you’re doing it right as it’s your first time. IF it goes wrong/acts different, they’ve got more chance of fixing it than you have.

Turn on the ignition. Before you put your card in set the tacho to rest bed mode on driver 1. Put your card in and wait. You will get the manual entry question reply no.
After a few minutes you will see the rest-bed start to count up. When it gets to about 3 or 4 minutes of rest or more. Put it on hammers-work mode and go do your checks.
Now drive off. Don’t let anyone rush you .
In the future you can do manual entries for the time it takes you from getting to the yard to getting to the truck etc etc

Thanks guys.