Reversing.......again!

Good morning all

I have been driving class 1 for a year now and have to say that my reversing has reached the standard of garbage. Im really not sure what to do about it. I watch and listen to all the drivers who seem to be able to do it with relative ease, but dear me its not getting easy for me.

Now, to put this into context. I get onto every bay I need to. I do this without (fingers crossed) breaking anything. I make up for skill with hyper care, including liberal use of GOAL and by driving very slowly…so I get there, but remain frustrated by a lack of adequate progress. A few weeks ago I had to do a blind side (something I avoid wherever theres and alternative option), and it took me 45 mins to get though the gate. Watching the forklift driver going off to do something else while i messed about was very embarrassing.

Whats worse is I understand the principles. I have been reversing trailers/caravans for many years so theers no “which way do I turn the wheel” quandry. I just cant seem to get used to the rate of turn. Cant seem to judge the set up positions. Backing between two trailers in a yard is a nightmare…unless of course there’s boatloads of room. I go back, watch the curve towards the hole, fight myself not to steer to much…only to see it not turn enough. Or I add just a tiny bit (in my mind) more…only to see it swing too far.

Im told I over do it, Im told, relax it’ll come… but it doesnt feel like its coming. HELP!!!

I really struggled for the first few months but if you’ve been battling for over a year then fair play to you, most would have given up by now!

Few things I learnt that helped and I’ve no idea if it will help you :

As much as you (and everyone else!) hate blindsiding you need to force yourself to do it, when you next park your trailer up if there is two spaces next to each other try and blindside in in, even if you back it in on your good side, pull back out of it again and blindside it in.