Wannabe Driver Question

Hi guys,

I have been toying with the idea of trying to get my C Licence for around a year now. I currently work in sales in South Wales and am happy in my current job, but would also really like to give driving a go as a job in the future.

I have done the medical and got my provisional C licence, so the next step would be taking the plunge and starting on the theory tests.

However, I am wondering whether it would be possible once passed, to stay in my current job to begin with, but use agencies to try to get weekend work to build up some experience and ultimately decide whether I’d like to pursue it full time.

My thinking is that this would allow me to get my licence sooner rather than later (probably saving money in the long run).

I just wondered what you guys think and whether this is a possible route.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Paul

I will assume you are currently working full-time (40 hours) 5 days a week?

With that assumption, the difficulty with your plan is in order to comply with the weekly rest rule, is that you’d only be able to work as a HGV driver 1 day per week every other week. So your number of days at work would look like this - 5,6,5,6 etc.(the 6th day being your day as a HGV driver)

This is because of the EU driver’s hours rules, specifically the weekly rest rule. A driver must take an unbroken rest period of 45 hours each week, think of this as your Saturday and Sunday off. However a reduced weekly rest period can be taken of a minimum of 24 hours every other week, so this would be like working Saturday and just having Sunday off.

I imagine most agencies won’t be interested in you if you can only work 1 day every other week. I might be wrong though, you have nothing to lose by making a phone call or a quick visit to an office.

Good luck with training if you choose to pursue it!

Thanks for the quick reply and this advice. I didn’t realise that, but all makes sense.