First C+E Driving Job!

Hello all!

I passed my Cat C+E in August and began applying for a couple of jobs around my area. I applied to 3 in total and got an interview and assessment from 2, which I was happily surprised about given I have no experience. Unfortunately as my licence hadn’t come back from the DVLA yet one of the companies wouldn’t allow me to do the assessment so that was cancelled. I went ahead with the first company, had an interview with the owner and did an assessment drive. They seemed happy and half an hour later they rang me to offer me the job!

I start tomorrow and am spending a few weeks with their driver trainer to get into it. It’s doing waste and recycling with walking floor trailers, Mon - Fri and once I’m confident on my own I’ll be tramping 4 nights a week, which suits me. The pay is decent, especially for having no experience and it will increase once I am competent on my own.

Just thought I’d make a post to let others know it’s possible to get a job with no experience, and if anybody has any advice I’m all ears! Grateful to have so quickly got my foot in the door and gaining experience.

I’ll be back to let you all know how I get on.

Congrats mate, let us know how it goes!

Best advice I can give is take your time, do things safely over quickly. You’ll get quicker as you get more experienced naturally anyway. Most of all Enjoy it!

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Well done on getting the job Tommy.

Like you, I start my first job tomorrow with an experienced driver for a few weeks.

Fingers crossed there are no issues for you. Hope your feeling confidant. As Benja has said slow n steady.

Good luck mate

Congrats mate, hope you fare well in your new job.

Congratulations Tommy!!