Is It Worth It?

Hi all,

Been watching and reading this forum rigorously over the last week and been finding it very helpful so thanks for all the newbies and experienced folk for leaving their 2 cents. I just had some questions that after searching couldn’t find somewhat related answers to.

So I am thinking of going for my HGV C or class 2 licence was going to do C+E but quite frankly I’m a bit a worried about the reversing/manoeuvring with an artic and was thinking of getting a bit of class 2 experience first before diving into that. On the whole, I’d say I’m an average driver, not exactly Lewis Hamilton but not quite as bad as reversing up a motorway.

I do enjoy driving, but one of the main things that appealed to me was a 4 on 4 off type rota. The main reason for that is with my mum’s health I have to help out with her and things around the house so having something like that would be ideal.
In terms of long hours or being alone, that doesn’t particularly phase me as currently I work for myself and do on average 14-16 hours a day where I’m alone most of the time in quite a mentally challenging role. However, things have changed with that and it’s just not working out as much financially anymore so I’m thinking its time I am realistic and go back to full-time employment.

I do have experience in driving jobs I was a courier (just van driving) for Amazon delivering up to 180 parcels a day as multi-drop. And have travelled throughout the UK in a LWB van when I worked in insulation.

My questions were:

Is it fairly easy to find roles such as 4 on 4 off type work? Or do these types of jobs normally have more competition?
My brother comes back from working abroad in August so he should be able to help out more with mum then, was thinking of eventually getting into international work, but how hard is it to get into that? And is the money any better for it?