Driving Experience Requirement for a Wannabe HGV Driver

Hi all,

I’m a former student here who dropped out of Uni recently after once I wasn’t even trying or cared about my degree, I just went for the social aspect.

Anyway I’m looking into getting into HGV driving as I think its something stable that really suits me as I’m a fairly solitary person as it is plus i need money of course.

Ive thought it through and I really think the work suits me and I’d be happy doing it but my main concern is my lack of driving experience. Is it realistic o go straight from getting my drivers licence into getting my HGV training and then going on to get a job driving? Or do most workplaces expect a certain level of experience on the road prior to getting :slight_smile: :slight_smile: HGV qualifications?

Cheers

Driving is a dead end job, not to ■■■■ on your fireworks but that’s the harsh truth.

Pass the test and I don’t foresee any problems getting work, they are falling all over themselves in e.mids for drivers.

You may have issues because when you’re a new pass, they want you to have held your license 2 years. You may have to do something else for a while before you get a start

johnteller:
Driving is a dead end job, not to ■■■■ on your fireworks but that’s the harsh truth.

Pass the test and I don’t foresee any problems getting work, they are falling all over themselves in e.mids for drivers.

You may have issues because when you’re a new pass, they want you to have held your license 2 years. You may have to do something else for a while before you get a start

Working a dead end job on £10,000 a year currently mate, at least driving has a livable pay. Student debt looming over my head with no career prospects and a useless failed degree so I’d consider myself lucky to get a job driving. But if its 2 years they expect hen I guess that’s a no go then, back to the drawing board I guess